About PRES


Late PadmashriDr.Vitthalrao Vikhe Patil, the founder father of agri co-operative movement established the first co-operative sugar factory in Asia at Pravaranagar, Dist. Ahmednagar (MS). He firmly believed in socio-economic transformation of rural India through appropriate education. With this idea, he established ‘Pravara Rural Education Society’ (PRES) in 1964. The PRES has been registered under the Society’s Registration Act of 1860 and Bombay Public Trust Act of 1950. Since then its field of activities extended and has successfully transform the Pravara-Loni area into an ultra-modern Rural Educational Complex, unparalleled elsewhere in the country. The PRES catering education from KG to PG level in almost all disciplines under one roof. The Pravara Rural Education Society has been awarded “Best Education Society in Maharashtra” by the Govt. of Maharashtra on September 5, 2004. 



Padmashri Dr. Vitthalrao Vikhe Patil , the pioneer of Sugar Co-operative movement, who had a humble beginning, was chiefly instrumental in, organizing the much exploited sugarcane ‘growers of the 44 villages, in and around Pravaranagar, way back in 1948, and establishing Asia’s first co-operative sugar factory, which was commissioned in 1950. Born in a farmer’s family at Loni in 1901, he was distressed by the pitiable plight of the poor, the illiterate and the downtrodden peasantry who were exploited by the money-lenders, feudal lords, and private sugar factory owners. In those days the local peasantry of Pravara area had to face difficulties in marketing of sugarcane, as conversion of sugarcane into Sugar was totally uneconomical and the “Jaggery Prices, reached the rock bottom. Therefore, Padmashri began exploring ways of uplifting the farmers of this area. It dawned on him that co-operative movement was the only ideal medium to achieve his goal. So begins the saga of co-operative movement in India.

He pioneered co-operative movement as a tool for social, educational & economic upliftment of the rural masses. His untiring efforts changed the rural scene of Maharashtra & created awareness amongst the people to lead a prospective purposeful life. He was awarded “Padmashree” the distinguished title in appreciation of his life’s work with the co-operative movement, at the hands of the President of India, Late. Dr. Rajendra Prasad in 1961. He was felicitated with the honorary D. Lit. Degree by University of Pune in 1978 and Doctor of Science in 1979 by Mahatma Phule Krishiv Vidyapeeth, Rahuri.

To realize the visionary thoughts, his worthy son-Hon’ble Shri. Balasaheb Vikhe Patil, (Padmabhushan Awardee),Chairman Emeritus, PRES & Ex Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, established Dr. Vikhe Patil Foundation and took up to himself task of translating the dreams of Padmashri into realities by providing dynamic and pragmatic leadership to the society. 

True of the tradition of the renowned family, Led by his illustrious sons Hon. Namdar Shri. Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, Leader of opposition, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly & Ex. Minister for Agriculture & Marketing, Govt. of Maharashtra in providing foresighted leadership to make PRES comparable to the international standards. 

Managing Committee 


Dr.Eknathrao Vitthalrao Vikhe Patil (Padmabhushan awardee) Chairman Emeritus
Hon. Namdar Shri. Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil Chairman,PRES, Leader of opposition, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly & Ex. Minister for Agriculture & Marketing, Govt. of Maharashtra


Shri.Annasaheb Sarangadhar Mhaske Patil Trustee
Shri.Punjaji Bapuji KaduPatil Trustee
Shri.RadhakrishanaEknathraoVikhePatil Trustee
Shri.Bhagwantrao Alias Abasaheb Ganpatrao KhardePatil Trustee & Secretary


Shri.Annasaheb Sarangadhar MhaskePatil
Shri.Baburao Dada KaduPatil
Shri.Shashikant Alias Abasaheb Laxman GholapPatil
Sau.Uma Vijayrao Gune
Raosaheb Ranuji Kasbe
Dr.Bhaskarrao Nivrutti KhardePatil
Shri.Bansi Balu TambePatil
Dr.Vijay Kelkar
Prof.Prataprao Borade
Justice Sambhajirao Baburao Mhase
Prof.Sukdeo Thorat
Shri.Bhagwatrao Bapuji GholapPatil
Advt.Appasaheb Karbhari Dighe Patil
Shri.Dnyandeo Laxmanrao MhaskePatil
Shri.Annasaheb Alias Sawaleram Gabaji Bhosale Patil
Shri.Kacharu Patilba AherPatil
Shri.Dattatraya Marutao Shirsath Patil
Shri.Subhashrao Dattatraya Patil
Shri.Tukaram Namdeorao Bendre Patil
Shri.Sanjeev Shankarrao Joshi
Shri.Chand Mastan Patel
Shri.Kishorkumar Shrikisan Nawandar
Shri.Bharat Vasantrao Ghogare Patil

Copyright © 2019 Pravara Institute Of Agricultural Sciences